So far the CDC reports that 654 persons infected with the outbreak strain of Salmonella Typhimurium have been reported from 44 states.  The outbreak began September 1, 2008 and has continued through at least February 3, 2009.  The ill are less than one to over 98. 23% reported being hospitalized.  Infection may have contributed to nine deaths: Idaho (1), Minnesota (3), North Carolina (1), Ohio (2), and Virginia (2).

The recall began in January with a few hundred products and as of Sunday now stands at 2,591 products from more than 200 companies.  Products from both the Georgia and Texas Peanut Corporation of America plants are part of the recall.  The recalls have extended (we could call them exports) beyond American borders to Aruba, Australia, the Bahamas, Bermuda, Canada, the Cayman Islands, Haiti, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, St. Maarten, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, the Turks and Caicos Islands, and the United Kingdom.  The recalls also have reached into some surprising products, such as bird food. Here is a complete Peanut Butter and other Peanut Containing Products Recall List.