As of August 12, 2013, CDC has been notified of 539 cases of Cyclospora infection from the following 19 states: Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York (including New York City), Ohio, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

† Includes one case that was likely acquired out of state.

‡ Includes two cases that were likely acquired out of state.

¶ May include one travel-associated case.

Most of the illness onset dates have ranged from mid-June through mid-July.

At least 32 persons reportedly have been hospitalized in five states.

On August 12, 2013, FDA released information regarding the traceback investigation of Taylor Farms de Mexico salad mix and the company’s decision to suspend “production and shipment of any salad mix, leafy green, or salad mix components from its operations in Mexico to the United States.”

It is not yet clear whether the cases from all of the states are part of the same outbreak.

Additional cases are currently under investigation and will be included on this page as confirmed. Cases in this outbreak are defined as laboratory-confirmed Cyclospora infection in a person with onset of illness since June 2013 and no history of travel outside of the United States or Canada during the 14 days prior to onset of illness.