Frozen-strawberriesMonterey County Health Officials have identified seven food service establishments in Monterey County at which the recalled product were served recently.  These locations include:

  • Black Bear Diner, 2450 Fremont Street, Monterey
  • Farm Fresh Deli and Café, 145 Main Street, Salinas
  • Fish Hopper Restaurant, 700 Cannery Row, Monterey
  • La Plaza Bakery, 107 Bardin Road, Salinas
  • La Plaza Bakery, 20A North Sanborn Road B, Salinas
  • Turn 12 Bar and Grill, 400 Tyler Street, Monterey
  • Yogurt Heaven, 157 The Crossroads, Carmel

If you consumed strawberries at Black Bear Diner (2450 Fremont St, Monterey), Farm Fresh Deli (145 Main Street, Salinas), Fish Hopper Restaurant (700 Cannery Row, Monterey), La Plaza Bakery (107 Bardin Road, Salinas), La Plaza Bakery (20A North Sanborn Road B, Salinas) or Turn 12 Bar and Grill (400 Tyler Street, Monterey) in the two weeks prior to November 3, 2016, OR if you consumed strawberries at Yogurt Heaven (157 The Crossroads, Carmel) in the two weeks prior to November 10th, Health Officials recommend that you:

Check your immunization record to see if you have been previously vaccinated for hepatitis A.If you have been vaccinated or have had hepatitis A disease in the past, no further action is recommended.

If you have not been immunized against hepatitis A or had hepatitis A disease in the past, contact your healthcare provider. The CDC recommends post-exposure prophylaxis (PEP) for unvaccinated people who ate the recalled strawberries in the last two weeks.  PEP consists of:Hepatitis A vaccine for people between the ages of 1 and 40 years.

Hepatitis A virus-specific immunoglobulin (IG) for people outside of this age range, but the hepatitis A vaccine can be substituted if IG is not available.

Those with evidence of previous vaccination do not require PEP.

PEP is not effective in people who ate the recalled strawberries more than 2 weeks ago.

Watch for signs and symptoms of hepatitis A infection for the next 6 weeks.

Contact your medical provider if you experience vomiting, abdominal pain, fever, nausea, dark urine, and/or yellowing of the skin or eyes.

If you ate the recalled product at one of the above locations in the time frame indicated and do not have a medical provider, please contact the following clinics offering hepatitis A vaccination:

  • Alisal Health Center, 559 East Alisal Street #201, Salinas, (831) 769-8800
  • Seaside Family Health Center, 1150 Fremont Street, Seaside, (831) 899-8100
  • Visiting Nurses Association and Hospice, (831) 372-6668
  • Hepatitis A vaccinations may also be available at your local pharmacy. Check with your insurance company about coverage.  Prices may vary by location and coverage.

Symptoms of hepatitis A can include vomiting, abdominal pain, yellowing of the skin and eyes, fever, fatigue, and nausea. Symptoms develop two to six weeks after consuming contaminated food or drink and can last from one week to several months. Most people recover completely, but sometimes hepatitis A can lead to hospitalization and severe illness. Hepatitis A can be passed from person-to-person when hands are not thoroughly washed after using the restroom.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and state and local Health Officials are investigating an outbreak of hepatitis A illnesses linked to frozen strawberries. Epidemiologic and traceback evidence indicate frozen strawberries imported from Egypt are the likely source of this outbreak. The recalled product was distributed by the International Company for Agricultural Production & Processing (ICAPP) and imported from Egypt. On October 30, 2016, ICAPP recalled all of its frozen strawberries that were imported into the United States since January 1, 2016. The recalled products were distributed for sale to and use in food service establishments nationwide. As of October 17, 2016, 134 people with hepatitis A have been linked to the outbreak and reported from nine states: Arkansas (1), California (1), Maryland (12), New York (3), North Carolina (1), Oregon (1), Virginia (107), West Virginia (7), and Wisconsin (1).